Polish Music Journal
Vol. 5, No. 2, Winter 2002. ISSN 1521—6039



Joseph A. HERTER

Joseph A. Herter, a native of Detroit, Michigan. and a graduate of the University of Michigan School of Music, is a conductor and Polish music scholar presently based in Warsaw, Poland. The founder and artistic director of Cantores Minores choir at the St. John the Baptist Cathedral in Warsaw, Poland, Herter has been actively involved in a number of large-scale projects, including increased cultural exchanges between Poland and the U.S., reviving lost or forgotten repertoire of Polish music, especially from late 19th and early 20th century, and developing choral movement in Poland and internationally. Herter's choir participated in numerous festivals and international tours, including summer concert tours to the U.S. in 1998 and 2001, and won prizes in international competitions. As a performer-scholar, Herter is particularly interested in patriotic repertoire (his concerts frequently celebrate major political events) and music adhering to the aesthetics of romanticism, including compositions by Paderewski and Stojowski. His current project involves the revival of Zygmunt Stojowski's oeuvre through research and performances. The Stojowski research has been supported by grants from the Kosciuszko Foundation in New York and Ars Musica Poloniae Foundation in California.

The Life of Stojowski
Annotated Catalogue of Works
Article's Appendix
Stojowski's Writings


Nicholas REYLAND

Nicholas Reyland is a British musicologist who divides his time between musicology, lecturing and work for the London Sinfonietta. As a part-time Ph. D. candidate at Cardiff University, he is engaged in research, under the supervision of Professor Adrian Thomas, centering on the music of Witold Lutosławski. His thesis, provisionally entitled Action, narrative and modernism in the music of Witold Lutosławski (1965-76), explores Lutosławski's conception of "purely musical" action/narrative in key works of the 1960s and 70s. He has published and broadcast on subjects including Ligeti, Lutosławski, Penderecki, socialist realism, sonorism and the Warsaw Autumn, and written for publications including BBC Music Magazine, British Postgraduate Musicology, Central Europe Review, Opera and Tempo. He currently lectures on Cardiff University Music Department's course in 20th-century Polish music. Forthcoming papers include "Looking for some action: Lutosławski, narrative and the modernist paradigm" (1 April 2003, Cardiff University) and "Lutosławski in action" (29 June 2003, Nottingham University) - part of the session "Lutosławski Studies: new narratives", which he is organising for the Third Biennial International Conference on Twentieth-Century Music.

After three years as the London Sinfonietta's Marketing Manager, Nicholas Reyland became the new music ensemble's Web & Publications Editor in 2001. He now produces and edits all of the ensemble's web pages, programme books and publications, a multifaceted job which includes interviewing leading composers for the ensemble's multimedia website (www.londonsinfonietta.org.uk). He has also been Editor of the journal British Postgraduate Musicology since 1999, and created BPM's current home - the website www.bpmonline.org.uk - from scratch. Asides from Lutosławski, Polish and contemporary music, his research interests include narrativity, tragedy, and film/TV soundtracks.

Review of Lutoslawski Studies



Born in Poland, and educated in Poland and Canada, Dr. Trochimczyk serves as Research Assistant Professor and Stefan and Wanda Wilk Director of the Polish Music Center at the Flora L. Thornton School of Music, University of Southern California, Los Angeles. After receiving two M.A. degrees in Poland (in sound engineering from the F. Chopin Academy of Music in Warsaw, 1987, and in musicology from the University of Warsaw, 1986) she completed her doctoral dissertation on Space and Spatialization in Contemporary Music at McGill University, in Montreal, Canada (1994) and moved to California in order to dedicate her future to researching and promoting Polish music. Dr. Trochimczyk is the recipient of grants, awards, and fellowships from Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (doctoral and postdoctoral fellowships, 1993-1996), the American Council of Learned Societies (2001), the University of Southern California (grants from the Zumberge Fund for New Faculty in 1997, Southern California Studies Center Junior Faculty Award in 1999), Mu Phi Epsilon Professional Music Fraternity (first prize for the doctoral dissertation, 1998), and the Wilk Prize for Research in Polish Music (Professional Prize, 1994).

In her musicological research Trochimczyk has focused on the study of music by Polish composers (Bacewicz, Górecki, Lutosławski) while continuing to pursue her interests in 20th-century music (Bartók, Andriessen, Schafer, Xenakis), spatial music, and constructs of Polish national identity (anthems, immigrant communities and musicians, dance groups). Dr. Trochimczyk has published over forty articles and book chapters in an international array of books and journals, e.g. Journal of Musicological Research, The Musical Quarterly, American Music, The American Journal of Semiotics (US), Contemporary Music Review (UK), Muzyka (Poland), Studia Musicologica (Hungary), Women Composers: Music Through the Ages (USA), Lutosławski Studies (UK), and Crosscurrents and Counterpoints (Sweden). She has also given presentations at over forty musicology and interdisciplinary conferences in six countries. Her book After Chopin: Essays in Polish Music was published in 2000 by the Polish Music Center; a volume of essays about The Music of Louis Andriessen appeared in 2002 (New York: Routledge). In 1987-2000 she was known as Maria Anna Harley and published under that name.

Editorial: Stojowski, Paderewski and Polish Music
Selected Reviews of Stojowski's Concerts
Selected Notes for Stojowski's Works


PMJ - Current Issue
PMJ - Archives
PMJ - Editorial Board


Copyright 2002 by the Polish Music Journal.
Editor: Maja Trochimczyk. Polish Music Center, 2002.
Design: Maja Trochimczyk & Marcin Depinski.
Comments and inquiries by e-mail: polmusic@email.usc.edu